Are All Messages Stored in iCloud?
Are all Messages Stored in iCloud? Yes, if your backup is enabled, then your messages can be saved there for your future use. Keep reading to find out how this is done.
To put it simply, Messages on iCloud do store all your text. It frees up space on your device by storing all of your messages, conversations, and files in iCloud.
Every megabyte counts, especially because Apple continues to sell iPhones with meager base-model storage.
It keeps all of your devices more under control than ever because all messages are stored in iCloud. If you delete a message on one device, it will also be deleted from all of them, this includes an entire conversation.
The interesting thing about this iCloud is that your whole message will also be accessible to you, once you get a new device, but you would have to restore from a backup to get those messages again.
Now that iCloud is available for your use, you won’t be forced to delete relevant conversations just to free up space on your device
How to Enable iCloud on your Device
The process of enabling messages in iCloud is quite simple. Whether you’re using a Mac or an iOS device, these are the steps you should take:
On your iOS device
- Start by opening the Settings app.
- Click on your iCloud account.
- Click on iCloud.
- Toggle the switch next to Messages.
- Open the Messages app.
- From the menu bar, open Preferences.
- Go to the second tab, which is Accounts.
- Tick the box next to Enable Messages in iCloud.
Are there Limitations on iCloud?
This upgrade does have some limitations, the biggest of which is the amount of iCloud storage consumed.
The free plan, which only offers 5 GB, is more common. This is never enough, especially if you have iCloud Pictures enabled.
Moreover, Messages in iCloud are not supported by the Apple Watch. A chat or message that is erased from your watch does not also get deleted from the other devices, and vice versa.
However, normal text messages are excluded. Standard text are indicated by green in the Messages app, will still be delivered to all of your devices using the same Apple ID even if it won’t be sent to the cloud for synchronization.
Hence, if you delete it in one place, it won’t be automatically deleted from all devices.