New York Area Codes’ Complete and Accurate Map List 2022

New York Area Codes are often applicable when a citizen is calling from outside the state. In order to know more about this, it is necessary that such information is accurate and easy to comprehend. 

New York Area Codes

The North American numbering plan administration has divided the state of New York into twelve geographical areas with 19 numbering plan area (NPA) codes.

However, while making an international call; one needs to include the Area Codes of that city.

The North American Numbering Plan (NANP) assigns area codes 718, 347, and 929 to the Bronx, Brooklyn, Queens, and Staten Island boroughs of New York City, as well as the Marble Hill section of Manhattan.

They’re part of a bigger overlay scheme that covers all of New York City’s area code 917.

What you Need to Know About Area Codes

In the early 1940s, area codes were introduced. AT&T and the Bell System created NPA codes to divide the coverage region into “number plan zones” (abbreviated NPA).

Area codes are more typically used to refer to NPA codes.  While the system was created in the 1940s, long-distance direct dialing did not begin until the early 1950s.

Some area codes have been set aside for specific uses. For example, area code 800 (often known as 800-numbers) is allocated for toll-free calls in which the called party pays instead of the caller. Also, not all area codes are in use right now.

List of New York Area Codes

There are 19 area codes in New York, with eight overlays. Until 1984, New York had only one area code: 212.

It served New York City’s five boroughs until it was depleted and the need for more area codes became apparent.

To address the increased demand for phone numbers, the following area codes and overlays were added.

The current area codes for New York City, as well as their overlays, are listed below:

NPAYearCurrent region
2121947New York City: Manhattan only; overlays with 332646, and 917
3151947Syracuse, Utica, Watertown, and north-central New York; overlaid by 680.
3322017New York City: Manhattan only; overlays with 212646, and 917
3471999New York City: all except Manhattan; overlays with 718917, and 929
5161951Nassau County
5181947Albany, Glens Falls, Plattsburgh, Saratoga Springs, and northeastern New York; overlaid by 838
5852001Rochester, Batavia, Wellsville, and western New York
6071954Binghamton, Elmira, Ithaca, Bath, Norwich, and south-central New York
6311999Suffolk County; overlaid by 934
6461999New York City: Manhattan only; overlays with 212332, and 917
6802017Syracuse, Utica, Watertown, and north-central New York; overlay of 315
7161947Buffalo, Dunkirk-Fredonia, Olean, Jamestown, Niagara Falls, Tonawanda and western New York
7181984New York City: all except Manhattan; overlays with 347917, and 929
8382017Albany, Glens Falls, Plattsburgh, Saratoga Springs, and northeastern New York; overlay of 518
8452000Poughkeepsie, Middletown, Newburgh, West Point, Goshen, and southeastern New York
9141947Westchester County
9171992New York City: all; overlays with 212332347646718, and 929
9292011New York City: all except Manhattan; overlays with 347718, and 917
9342014Suffolk County; overlay of 631

Overview of New York Area Codes

New York Area Codes

New York is currently using twenty area codes. New York uses five area code overlay plans, often called overlay complexes. Originally, New York had five area codes when the numbering system was established in 1947.

Because of a significant increase in population after World War II, these five area codes were sufficient for only 4 years when in 1951 area code 914 was split to create area code 516.

In 1954 area codes 315 and 716 were split to form area code 607. These seven area codes were sufficient for thirty years until 1984 when area code 718 was created from a split of area code 212.

That was the only new area code put into service in the 1980s. However, in the 1990s four area codes, 917, 646, 347, and 631 were put into service.

Also, in 2000 and 2001 two more area codes 845 and 585, were implemented. In 2011 area code 929 was implemented as an overlay of area codes 347, 718, and a portion of 917.


Now that you are aware of New York’s multiple local area codes and the areas they cover. But do you know why a New York phone number needs certain area codes?

Each nation, including the United States of America, is required to have a certain number of digits in its phone number.

The 1-digit country code, the 3-digit area code, and the 7-digit phone number make up the majority of the 11-digit phone numbers in the US.

A 3-digit central office or exchange code and a 4-digit subscriber number are also included in the 7-digit phone number. The USA’s country code is +1.

Frequently Asked Questions

New York has 19 area codes. Area code 212 was the first area code that the city got. It serves the entire region of Manhattan. Overlays of 332, 646, and 917 were also added to area code 212 to meet the growing demand for phone numbers with the new York area code.

Queens, which is part of Manhattan city is served by area code 917. 917 is an overlay of area code 212 which covers the entire region of Manhattan.

212 is a coveted area code and the phone numbers that are issued under the code are considered to be a status symbol. 

Area code 347 is an overlay of area code 718 and a portion of 917. It serves all parts of New York other than Manhattan, which includes the Bronx, Brooklyn, New York City, and Staten Island. 

Buffalo is in upstate New York. it is served by area code 716. 716 also serves other neighboring parts of Buffalo, including Cheektowaga, Dunkirk, Lockport, Niagara Falls, and Tonawanda among many others. 

Area code 646 is an overlay for area code 212 and covers all parts of Manhattan. 646 was introduced in the year 1999 when 917 ran out of phone numbers. 

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *