How to Know If You’ve Been Blocked on Facebook: It can be really frustrating and annoying to get blocked on Facebook for any reason. But, what if you were really not blocked?
Before you jump to the conclusion that you have been blocked, you need to exhaust your options not to believe this and here in this article are different ways to know that you have been blocked on Facebook.
How to Know If You’ve Been Blocked on Facebook
If someone has blocked you, rather than simply discontinued your friendship, his name will not show up in your account’s search results. Try typing the person’s name in the search field at the top of your Facebook home page. If you don’t find that person, you may have been blocked.
However, he may have simply changed his security settings to prevent anyone but friends from searching for him. Try logging out of Facebook or toggling to your business account (click the arrow in the upper right corner and select “Log In As”). Try searching for the person again.
If the person is not visible in a public search or from your business account, you may have been blocked. If the person is visible in a public search, but not visible in a search from your personal account, you’ve been blocked.
Mutual Friend List
Mutual friends can be a good indicator to see if you have been blocked. Navigate to a profile of someone who was a mutual friend with the person you suspect has blocked you. A list of some of her current friends is on their profile page. Click the “See All” link at the top of the list.
A search field appears at the top of the page, which you can use to type the person’s name. If the person’s profile appears, you have not been blocked. If it doesn’t appear, you may have been blocked.
While few people have their friends listed publicly if you can find such a person, try logging out of Facebook and looking at their list of friends. If the person is visible there, but not when you were logged in, you have been blocked.
If you can remember any posts the person has placed on your profile, business page, or a mutual friend’s page in the past, finding those posts now can indicate whether you’ve been blocked.
If you have been blocked, the Wall posts will still be visible, however, his profile picture will be replaced with a question mark. Additionally, the person’s name will be in black text and will no longer be a clickable link to his profile page.
Try To Block Someone Who May Have Blocked You
This isn’t a case of seeking revenge. By checking whether you can block someone, you’re also checking whether they’ve deactivated their Facebook. Think of this as like tagging—you can only tag people you’re not blocked from following. And so you can only block people who haven’t blocked you.
Sign in and click on the down arrow to the top-right of your feed. Go to Settings > Blocking and enter a name under Block users. After clicking enter or Block, a list of profiles will appear, giving you the option to block them. If that person isn’t listed, they’ve either deactivated/ deleted their account or have blocked you first.
Try Inviting them To Events
People create events on Facebook to coordinate meetups, including birthday parties, dinners, and Christmas celebrations. But if you’ve been blocked, you won’t be able to invite that individual.
Go to Events > Create Event > Create Private Event. After entering the details, you’ll need to invite specific people by essentially tagging them. You can’t add anyone who has blocked your profile though. Similarly, you can’t invite anyone who has blocked you to join or like pages.
Check Contacts On Messenger
If you’ve previously spoken to this person using Facebook Messenger, this is another indicator. But you must do this via the Facebook website because the app still sometimes shows blocked accounts.
Go to the Messenger section and click on See All in Messenger in the drop-down menu. Access the conversation you had with the contact. If you’ve been blocked, their profile image won’t load, replaced by a standard gray outline. You won’t be able to click on their name to look at their profile either.
You can try to send them a message too. If you have been blocked, your attempts will be unsuccessful. Facebook will tell you there’s been a temporary error.
How can you tell they haven’t just deactivated their Facebook account? In most cases, their name won’t appear at all if they have deleted their account, but deletion is different from deactivation. Deletion is a more permanent step, while deactivation merely means they’re staying off Facebook for a short time.
The platform might be a distraction at a busy time, so deactivating it is an attempt to give it up for a while. That could be why you’re not hearing from them—but at least they’ll probably be back soon.
Deletion means they don’t intend to come back. In this case, their Messenger thread will read “Facebook User”. Be aware that they could still be using Messenger without being on Facebook; nonetheless, if you can contact them here, at least you’re still friends.
Try Tagging Them
Let’s say you’ve found a meme you want to show a friend. Normally, you’d simply tag them by writing their name then clicking on the relevant link to their profile. They’d be notified of the tag and see it next time they log in.
But if you’ve been blocked by that person, you won’t be able to tag them in any posts—that includes memes, photos, and any posts you’re adding to your (or someone else’s) timeline. Whether you can tag someone who has unfriended you on Facebook depends on the other person’s privacy settings.
If it turns out someone has blocked you on Facebook, you’ll feel frustrated and angry, especially if you feel you’ve done nothing wrong.
Nevertheless, in most cases, it’s simply not worth worrying about. It could be something small, like a simple misunderstanding. Or it could just be a clash of personalities.
Yes, you could find the person in question and ask why they’ve blocked you. You could find another route to talk to them and tell them how you feel. Or you could just let it go. After all, why cause further friction over something ultimately trivial?