How to Deactivate or Delete your LinkedIn Account or LinkedIn Premium

How to Deactivate or Delete your LinkedIn Account: If you no longer use your LinkedIn account, it’s safer if you deactivate or delete it. In this article, we will explain everything you need to know about deleting or deactivating your LinkedIn account.

Deactivating Vs. Deleting Your LinkedIn Account

LinkedIn offers three options for limiting or canceling your account: a hibernation feature, the option to limit public visibility, and fully delete your account and data.

However, the hibernation feature is new and has only been rolled out to a limited number of users.

So, as not every LinkedIn user currently has this option we’ll focus instead on showing you how to deactivate or delete your LinkedIn account.

Currently, LinkedIn suggests limiting the public visibility of your account if you don’t want to delete it completely.

This prevents users who are not logged into the service from viewing your profile.

However, it leaves your profile intact and viewable to LinkedIn users.

Deleting your LinkedIn account, on the other hand, removes your profile from the website completely. It also deletes articles, comments, and posts.

How to Deactivate Your LinkedIn Account

LinkedIn does not have a widely rolled out option for deactivating or disabling your account.

Instead, all you can do is hide your account from search engine results.

This also hides your profile from users who are not logged into LinkedIn.

To limit your profile visibility, select the Me menu to the top-right of the LinkedIn homepage and click on Settings and Privacy.

This takes you to your privacy settings dashboard. Select the header that says Edit your public profile.

To the side of the Public profile settings page, you will see the option to Edit Visibility.

Next to the heading Your profile’s public visibility, click on the slider to toggle it on or off.

This is, however, a little misleading. As LinkedIn notes, it may be several weeks before your profile stops showing up in search engine results.

You can also still log in to your LinkedIn account and use the site’s services—and your profile will still be visible to your existing connections.

NB: Another relevant setting you should change is your profile visibility on partner services.

This setting is in your LinkedIn privacy dashboard. Scroll down to Profile visibility off LinkedIn and toggle the setting to off.

Editing these settings is a far cry from properly disabling or deactivating your LinkedIn account, but it is currently the only option available for those who want to temporarily disable their LinkedIn account.

To limit your profile visibility from logged-in LinkedIn users, you need to edit specific fields of your profile (e.g. recommendations) and either hide or delete them.

Read Also:

How to Delete Your LinkedIn Account

  1. Log into your LinkedIn account
  2. Select the tab under your profile picture in the top toolbar
  3. Choose “Settings and Privacy” from the dropdown menu
  4. In the “Account” tab, select “Closing Your LinkedIn Account”
  5. Select the reason for closing your account and hit “next”
  6. Select “Close Account”

How to Delete Your LinkedIn Profile

How to Deactivate or Delete your LinkedIn Account

Step 1: Log into your LinkedIn account with your username and password and click “Sign in”.

Step 2: Select your profile picture in the top toolbar.

Step 3: Choose “Settings and Privacy” (located beneath the “Account” section) from the dropdown menu.

Step 4: Select the “Account” tab on the next page (it defaults to the “Privacy” tab).

Once you’re there, scroll all the way down to the bottom of the page and click “Closing Your LinkedIn Account” (beneath “Account Management”).

Step 5: Select the reason for closing your account, or select “other” if none of the reasons apply to you. Then, click “Next”.

Note: If you are a LinkedIn Premium user, follow steps 4-6 in the How to Deactivate LinkedIn Premium” section below, then return to these directions.

Step 6: Enter your password and select “Close Account.” Voila! You’ve officially deleted your LinkedIn profile.

How to Backup LinkedIn Data Before Deleting Your Account

How to Backup LinkedIn Data Before Deleting Your Account

Afraid to see your profile cleared away? LinkedIn gives you the option of downloading your data before deleting your account.

Here’s how to back up your LinkedIn data.

Step 1: Select your profile picture from the top toolbar and click “Settings and Privacy” when the dropdown menu appears.

Step 2: In the privacy tab, select “Download your data”. You can choose to download “The works” (everything) or select specific data to backup. Click “Request Archive.” It can take 24 hours for the download to be sent to you.

How to Deactivate LinkedIn Premium

If you want to keep your LinkedIn account but simply want to downgrade to a basic LinkedIn account, follow these steps:

Step 1: Select your profile picture from the top toolbar

Step 2: Select “Premium Subscription Settings” from the dropdown menu.

Step 3: In the righthand toolbar, select “Cancel Subscription”. You may have to scroll down the page too view this section.

Step 4: Select “Continue to Cancel.”

Step 5: Select your reason for deactivating LinkedIn Premium (or select other if none of the reasons apply to you) and click “Continue to cancel.”

Note: the “Continue to cancel” button will not be clickable until you select your reason for canceling.

Step 6: Select “Confirm cancel” one last time.

Why you Shouldn’t Delete Your LinkedIn Account

Why You Shouldn’t Delete Your LinkedIn Account

LinkedIn is a top-notch networking site for job seekers, but don’t be so quick to delete your LinkedIn account after you’ve landed a new job.

Did you know 87% of recruiters use LinkedIn to find candidates?

While you may be thrilled with your current position, future you will be glad you remained visible to recruiters and continued building your network.

When you do not actively job searching, a little bit of routine maintenance to your LinkedIn profile isn’t a bad idea.

Jobscan’s LinkedIn Optimization tool helps refresh your profile and keep it current, attracting new opportunities, and keeping you prepared for a future job search.

LinkedIn can also keep you connected to clients and their concerns or changes within your industry.

Joining LinkedIn groups and following industry leaders can help keep you abreast of the changing industry climates.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *