– Facebook Friend Requests –
Facebook Friend requests unwritten rules and hidden settings are important to know. Also, Facebook is all about connecting with other people and making friends.
Facebook Friend Requests Unwritten Rules and Hidden Settings
Yet friend requests are delicate and can quickly get you in trouble with Facebook.
While you probably won’t get banned for inappropriate friend requests, many people have been blocked from adding more friends.
And even if it was a mistake, the block cannot be lifted early. It really does help to know the unwritten rules.
Facebook is complex, and this might be necessary for friend requests. Unfortunately, it’s a tough place for beginners because innocent mistakes can lead to drastic consequences.
So here are a few Facebook friend request tips to help you and people who request your friendship avoid unintentional punishment and generally make the most of all features around Facebook friends
- How to Cancel or Replace Money Orders from your Bank Successfully
- Unicru Personality Test Guide for 2020 & Tips on How to Pass the Test
- How to Upload a PDF File to Facebook: Different Methods Explained
- 8 Current Ways to Write a Catchy Garage Sale Ad in 2020
- 15 Under The Table Jobs That Pay Cash in 2020 You Should Know
How to Send Facebook Friend Requests
The following is a little refresher on how to add friends for those of you not too familiar with Facebook:
- You can see all your pending friend requests via the Friends icon in the top right of Facebook.
- Clicking the icon will open a menu that shows all pending Friend Requests and a list of People You May Know.
- Click Confirm to add a friend or Not Now to hide a request. The sender won’t be notified.
- You can also search people, open their profiles, and if they accept friend requests from the public or friends of friends add them by clicking the +1 Add Friend button located on their profile to the right of their name.
- To cancel a friend request, go back to their profile, hover over the button that now reads +1 friend Request Sent, and select Cancel Request from the menu.
- You can also remove a friend via their profile or your friend’s list. Facebook does not notify people if you remove them.
- However, it is possible to track your friend’s list with third-party tools and receive alerts when people remove you.
The Unwritten Rules of Facebook Friend Requests
1. Connect Before You Add Friends
Facebook wants you to add only people you know in real life.
If the friend request is often unanswered or even someone who reports that your friend request is undesirable, Facebook may conclude that you sent a friend request that violates the Community Standard.
Their community ( Community Standards ), in particular bullying and harassment. Therefore, Facebook may block you from sending friend requests for a period of time.
2. Report Spam Friend Request
When you delete a friend request, Facebook promises that the sender will not be notified. But they can send you a new request. If you can not get rid of them, you can use the Mark as spam ( Mark as spam ) that will appear after you remove their request to block requests from that person’s friends.
Remember that when you do so, that person may be punished.
3. Block Friend Requests from Strangers
Facebook allows you to limit who can send you friend requests. Applying such restrictions will keep strangers unable to connect with you.
From the Ask friends ( Friend Requests ) at the top right, click Settings ( Settings ) and select Everyone ( Everyone ) or Friends of ( Friends of Friends) from the dropdown menu.
Block friend requests from strangers
Alternatively, click the arrow at the top right to expand the Facebook menu, select Settings (Settings) > Privacy, and below Who can contact me? ( Who can contact me? ) Click Edit (Edit) and select Everyone or Friends of Friends.
4. Set Who Can See Your Friends List and Activity Friends
Expand the Facebook menu from the top right and select Activity Log. In the menu on the left, click View more (More) under Comments (Comment) to expand all items on Facebook.
Click Friends to browse all activities related to adding, accepting, and removing friends.
Here, you can further refine your privacy settings by choosing who can see your friends list and where your friend’s activities will show up.
At the top right, you’ll see a note stating Who can see your friends list? (Who can see your friend list?) , Click the settings icon on the right to expand the list of options.
The explanation hidden under the icon [?] Can help you decide which setting is right for you.
How to Avoid Being Blocked
To avoid being blocked by the reason for adding friends, follow these instructions:
- Make it easy for people to recognize you, ie using your own picture and real name.
- Try adding only the people you have friends on Facebook with.
- Send the contact request you want a notice introducing yourself before you add them.
- In a different way: don’t act like a fake account, don’t make friends with strangers.
We hope this content was helpful. Please feel free to share it with friends and your love ones.