– Car Insurance –
If you’re looking for cheap car insurance in Massachusetts, comparison shopping is key. However, which insurance company with the best price will often vary depending on your situation.
Massachusetts is home to some car insurance laws and requirements that can surprise visitors and residents alike.
Even more, Massachusetts is still a relatively affordable place to get car insurance. This is so especially if you can shop around and compare your options.
Massachusetts is the third most densely populated state in the nation. It is seen as a melting pot of history, culture, industry, and open countryside.
Visit the scene of the Boston Tea Party and walk the uniquely American Freedom Trail. You can also drop by the village of the Salem Witch Trials.
Also, you can drive from busy Boston to serene Southampton, and enjoy New England in its true beauty.
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Massachusetts
Every driver in the state of Massachusetts is required to carry minimum insurance coverage with the following limits:
However, Massachusetts’ countryside can be breathtaking. Visitors and residents alike can share front-row seats to some of the most vibrant sunsets on the Atlantic Coast.
- $20,000 bodily injury liability per person.
- $40,000 bodily injury liability total per accident.
- $5,000 property damage liability total per accident.
- $20,000 uninsured motorist coverage per person.
- $40,000 uninsured motorist coverage total per accident.
- $8,000 personal injury protection.
While Massachusetts drivers are required to carry uninsured motorist coverage, underinsured motorist coverage is optional. You may be tempted to look solely at price when deciding on a policy.
But by carefully considering coverage limits, you’ll typically get solid coverage. But will end up paying less when in the event of a claim.
Cheap Car Insurance in Massachusetts
What’s the Cheapest Car Insurance in Massachusetts?
|Rank||Company Name||Avg. Annual Premium|
|3||Norfolk and Dedham Group||$1,195|
|11||National Grange Mutual||$1,709|
Cheap Insurance for Good Drivers in Massachusetts
Drivers with good driving records typically enjoy lower car insurance costs than drivers with histories of speeding tickets. Or at-fault accidents, or DUI citations.
Even More, Massachusetts drivers without a recent at-fault accident typically save 41% on their car insurance premiums. This actually beats the US average by 9%.
In addition to earning a cheaper premium for driving incident-free, you may qualify for a safe-driving bonus through your car insurance company. The amount of these discounts may vary, but they typically run between 5 and 10%.
|Rating Factor||$ Savings||% Savings|
|No Traffic Tickets||$290||20.12%|
- Full vehicle coverage insurance: Knowing if You Need It
- Root Auto Insurance Review: Is It Right For You?
- Average Car Insurance Cost and the Factors Affecting It
- Turo Review : How Does Turo Car Rental Work?
Cheap Insurance for Young Drivers in Massachusetts
Young drivers — those between the ages of 16 and 25 — pay relatively high auto insurance rates, with those aged 16 to 19 paying the most expensive premiums of all.
Because of the risk presented by inexperienced drivers, teens pay more than three times the national average for car insurance.
Massachusetts is a relatively affordable state for teen drivers: the typical teen driver pays $4,210 per year. About $700 less than the national average for teens, but still four times more than the average driver in Massachusetts.
|Age||Annual Rate with Parents||Annual Rate Alone|
Cheap Car Insurance for Bad Drivers in Massachusetts
If you avoid at-fault accidents, speeding tickets, and DUIs, you can save money on car insurance. Insurance companies use your driving record as a way to predict the level of risk you present.
However, this is to maintain a spotless driving record which will lead to lower premiums.
It’s also important to avoid at-fault accidents, speeding tickets, and DUI citations in Massachusetts. However, this is one of the states in which insurance companies penalize poor driving most severely.
In fact, a single speeding ticket could raise your car insurance rates by 20% in Massachusetts. However, a DUI could raise your premiums by as much as 49%.
|Rating Factor||Annual Rate||% Increase|
What is the Best Auto Insurance Coverage in Massachusetts?
The minimum required level of insurance in Massachusetts is $20,000 and Bodily Injury per person. Also $40,000 Bodily Injury per accident, and $5,000 Property Damage per accident.
If you carry the legal minimum coverage level in Massachusetts, you’ll pay an average of $609 yearly. These premiums are cheaper than the nationwide average by 7%.
However, if you choose more comprehensive coverage, you can select a policy with comprehensive and collision coverage. This insures against damages caused by car-vs.-car collisions, theft, or weather incidents.
It’s worth noting that better car insurance comes with a price. In Massachusetts, a comprehensive insurance policy with a $1,000 deductible costs $983, 61% more than basic liability-only coverage.
For a comprehensive policy with a $500 deductible, you can expect to pay 93% more than you would for a liability-only policy.
Compare mean rates for basic, better, and best coverage levels below.
|Location||Liability-Only||Comprehensive — $1,000 Deductible||Comprehensive — $500 Deductible|
Car Insurance Frequently Asked Questions
1. Is car insurance required in Massachusetts?
Yes, four types of basic insurance are required, including bodily injury to others, personal injury protection (PIP). Also bodily injury caused by an uninsured auto, and damage to someone else’s property.
2. When should I get car insurance in Massachusetts?
Drivers are required to have car insurance to register a vehicle in Massachusetts. Be prepared to show proof of insurance before going to the vehicle registry.
3. What happens if my car is not properly insured in Massachusetts?
Serious penalties await those who operate a vehicle without proper insurance in Massachusetts. This include a fine of up to $5,000, loss of driving privileges for a year, and up to one year in jail.
4. Is Massachusetts a no-fault state?
Yes, Massachusetts is a no-fault state. That means you must file a claim with your car insurance company after any collision, even if you did not cause it.
When you’re driving in Massachusetts, you’ll run into some of the busiest roadways in the country. The right car insurance coverage is important for your peace of mind.
However, you should carefully research your choices to get the best coverage for your family and budget.
We hope this article has been helpful to you. Please share it with anyone who you think will appreciate the information!