20 Places You Can Get Free Books in Exchange for Reviews

20 Places You Can Get Free Books in Exchange for Reviews.

Get Free Books in Exchange for Reviews: The savvy reader knows there are plenty of places online to legally download books without spending a single penny. In this post, we’re giving you 20 of the best places to find free books online, so that you can satisfy even the most debilitating of book addictions, guilt-free.

Related Searches:

Places You Can Get Free Books in Exchange for Reviews

1. Bookmooch

One of the more popular of the online book swapping services. Give away books to get credits, and use those credits to get other books you find online. Pretty good selection. It’s a free service, although you pay the price of shipping the books you give away.

2. FreeBooksy

Most of the other book promotion services focus on both free and discounted books, but FreeBooksy is the biggest site that’s dedicated solely to ebooks you don’t have to pay for.

Unlike some of its competitors, it seeks out deals from all the major retailers, so even if you’re totally loyal to Kobo or Nook, you’re bound to find some great books gratis.

(Can you tell we’re desperately trying not to use the word “free” too much?)

3. Robin Reads

A book promotion service in the vein of BookBub, Robin Reads is another great way to stay in-the-know on all the hottest new titles and discounts. With everything from romance to horror to nonfiction, there’s sure to be something interesting in nearly all of their daily emails.

4. Manybooks

Combining an extensive database of free books with a daily deals newsletter, Manybooks is a great way to stay up to date on new books without missing out on the many centuries worth of books already at your fingertips.

The site is comfortable and easy to use, and their selection includes a wide range of languages to choose from.

5. Project Gutenberg

Named after the original printing press from the 15th century (and not the beloved star of the Police Academy films), Project Gutenberg is a volunteer-run effort to digitize and preserve books. Most of the titles available on the platform are in the public domain, meaning that they are no longer subject to copyright and can be freely distributed.

6. PaperBackSwap

Pretty much the same deal as Bookmooch — give away books to get credit, use credits to get other books. You pay for shipping (typically $2.13, according to the site). More than 1.3 million books available. No membership fee at this time.daily emails.

7. WhatsOnMyBookshelf.

Book swapping service … receive points for listing books and sending them, use them to get books from others. You pay for shipping books to others.

8. BookDivas.com 

BookDivas Holds Occasional Free Book Giveaways. Screenshot (c) BookDivas/Lisa LC Show

This is a book-lovers’ website that features author interviews, book reviews, tips for breaking into the writing industry, and more. BookDivas also shares the love of reading by offering free book sweepstakes. You can sometimes find writing contests on BookDivas as well.

9. Kirkus Media

Kirkus Media is a company that specializes primarily in book reviews. That means they are often hiring reviewers to read books and write reviews of roughly 350 words.

You need to submit your resume’, writing samples, and a list of reviewing specialties to Kirkus if you want to be considered for the job.

Adding talents or experience to the email address on their website will help too. The company also occasionally hires copy editors and editors as well, meaning you have three opportunities with Kirkus to get paid for reading books.

10. Online Book Club

Online Book Club is a company that pays between $5 and $60 for book reviews, depending on the length of the book, etc.

The company is looking for honest reviews of the books they send to members, and it is free to become a member. Online Book Club sends out books to you at no charge.

You have to do your first review you do with Online Book Club for free. This is the company’s way of being able to determine that you’re right for a job as a book reviewer with their company.

You will get paid for any subsequent reviews done for Online Book Club.

11. BookLoons.com

BookLoons.com offers book reviews, columns, and excerpts for adults, teens, and kids. They have a listing of book sweepstakes that covers their own sweepstakes as well as book giveaways on other sites.

The sweepstakes listings are divided up into sweepstakes for adults and for younger readers, which makes it easy to find age-appropriate contests to enter.

Because the book sweepstakes list on BookLoons covers many different sites, there are no standard entry restrictions. Read the rules of each sweepstake to see if you’re eligible to enter.

12. Harlequin Online Reads

The leading publisher of romance novels, Harlequin’s website also offers a huge collection of serialized stories from some of their best authors — for free. New chapters are posted every week, or you can browse a massive back catalog of completed works. With filters such as “Fall in Love,” “Walk on the Dark Side,” and “Take a Trip Down the Aisle,” plus the ability to show titles based on how much time you have to read at the moment (yes, really!), this collection is sure to let you zero in on the exact romance fix your craving.

13. The U.S. Review of Books

The U.S. Review of Books is a company that publishes book reviews of thousands of books in a variety of different genres. The company regularly seeks reviewers to write 250-300 word reviews of books for publication on its company site.

14. Tor.com

In addition to regularly publishing reams of freely available short fiction, Tor.com also hosts an eBook of the Month Club. To participate, all you need to do is sign up (for free, of course), and then once a month, they’ll email you a link where you can download their selection in either epub or Mobi format.

You do need to act fast when these emails come in — the titles are only available for a few days — but this is an excellent way to regularly get a sci-fi or fantasy hit from one of the biggest publishers in the

genre. Their selections are always satisfying and feature some of Tor’s biggest titles, such as works from the likes of John Scalzi, V.E. Schwab, and more.

15. Libby / OverDrive

In the wise words of Arthur the Aardvark, “Having fun isn’t hard when you’ve got a library card!” So it is with Libby, the new app by OverDrive. OverDrive allows libraries to purchase ebooks for lending out to their patrons. Each “copy” of the ebook can only be checked out by one patron at a time.

Loan lengths and the total number of titles you can have at once varies by the library. Books may be checked out and downloaded directly through Libby, or downloaded for reading via Kindle.

Because only one person can check out each copy at a time, though, there are often hold lists on popular titles — sometimes significant ones — so are sure to keep an eye on that when you’re picking your next read. However, the

16. Open Culture

In Open Culture’s own words, they scour the internet for the “audiobooks you need, the language lessons and educational videos you want, and plenty of enlightenment in between.” As a curator of free online learning resources, this sounds great to us! Their audiobook selection is top-notch as well, including some surprisingly high-profile narrators. (The Wizard of Oz as read by Tituss Burgess? Where do they even find these treasures?)

17. Women’s Review of Books

The Women’s Review of Books is a publication that, well, reviews books written by and about women. The site is based out of the Wellesley Centers for Women at Wellesley College, in collaboration with Old City Publishing in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

18. Storynory

Lastly, in all the rush to find free books, let’s not forget about the littlest readers among us! Storynory offers free audiobooks for kids, featuring everything from classics to brand-new originals exclusive to the Storynory site. While not as extensive a collection as some of the sites on our list, the stories are charming and offer a welcome distraction when someone just won’t settle down.

19. Upwork

Upwork, a freelancing network that connects freelancers with those in need of help, may offer some positions for writing reviews on books for websites or blogs. Of course, job availability varies.

Upwork offers thousands of jobs in a variety of genres, often including jobs for book reviewers that are paid as independent contractors.

20. Reedsy Discovery

Reedsy Discovery is always looking for new book reviewers. The pay for this one is not much — the authors are able to tip you for your time. Most tips are in the amounts of $1, $3, or $5. Looking at the application page, it also appears you may need to have a blog in order to be accepted.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *